Shipping cutoff dates for 12/24 delivery Orders Must Be Placed by Noon EST
Standard 12/15
2-Day 12/17
Overnight 12/19

11.08.13 / The 3rd Annual Burton Rail Days Brings Snowboarding, Art & Live Music to Tokyo

BURLINGTON, VT (November 8, 2013) – Burton will officially welcome winter in Tokyo on November 16th by hosting the world’s largest street snowboarding contest: the Burton Rail Days presented by MINI. Completely FREE and open to the public, the 2013 Burton Rail Days will once again be held in Roppongi Hills Arena in the heart of Tokyo and feature 17 of the best international urban rail riders like Zak Hale, Ethan Deiss, Mark Sollors, Austen Sweetin, Dylan Thompson, Ryo Eguchi and Yuma Abe.

The main attraction of Burton Rail Days is the world-class snowboard street competition, which starts at 5:45 pm (JST) on Saturday, November 16th and draws a record-breaking crowd. At Burton Rail Days, top invited riders will battle it out for a piece of the $27,000 prize purse on an innovative course created by Snow Park Technologies. Completely re-designed from the ground up, the new Burton Rail Days course includes a variety of urban elements, like handrails, stairs, boxes and wallrides. On the design side, the course will have a street-art theme that features  artwork by Japan’s top graffiti artists, Shizentomotel and Hitotzuki. Hitotzuki will also paint a MINI Crossover that will be installed on the façade of the course.

“I can already tell that Burton Rain Days 2013 will be one of the highlights of my upcoming season,” said Burton Team Rider Mark Sollors.  “Japan is one of my favorite places to visit, and a good crew of riders and a sick course always make for a fun trip.”

In addition to a world-class snowboard contest, Burton Rail Days will also host events leading up to the pro competition. First up is a live graffiti art event at the Burton Tokyo Store in Shibuya on November 9th & 10th at 12:00 pm, when everyone is invited to watch Shizentomotel spray-paint a MINI Crossover and large format canvas. Then on November 16th, Burton Rail Days will open to the public from 11:00 am – 4:00 pm with a free Burton Riglet Park where kids 12-and-under can learn to snowboard on mini park features like rails, ramps and boxes. Later that day at 5:00 pm, don’t miss an exclusive musical performance by DJ Kentaro, Japan’s premiere DJ/Producer, who will warm up the crowd before the Rail Days competition begins. Since becoming Asia’s first world champion at the DMC World Final in 2002, DJ Kentaro has taken music appreciation in all genres to another level, especially with his latest tune “Step In” which made it to #3 on the Beatport charts in January.

If you can’t make it to Tokyo to see Burton Rail Days in person, be sure to follow the hashtag #BurtonRailDays and head to www.burton.com/BRD for details on how to watch the contest live, as well as on-demand full webcast replays, highlight videos, winning runs and more. And if you’re in the U.S., check your local listings for airdates later this winter of the Burton Rail Days TV show as well as the rest of the Burton Global Events Series programming on Fox Sports 2.

Burton Rail Days Webcast Schedule – Saturday, November 16th:

LIVE WEBCAST: Australia Time Zone                         

Start Time:   7:35pm (AEDT)

Burton Rail Days Competition

LIVE WEBCAST: Japan Time Zone                              

Start Time:    5:35pm (JST)
Burton Rail Days Competition

LIVE WEBCAST: Central Europe Time Zone                

Start Time: 9:35am (CET)
Burton Rail Days Competition

LIVE WEBCAST: VT, U.S. Time Zone                          

Start Time: 3:35am (EST)
Burton Rail Days Competition

LIVE WEBCAST: CA, U.S. Time Zone                         

Start Time:   12:35am (PST)
Burton Rail Days Competition

A big thanks to MINI, GoPro and Vita Coco for their support of the Burton Rail Days.